The DSM-IV criteria for a diagnosis of depression are:

Five or more of the following symptoms have been present most of the time for at least 2 weeks; at least one symptom is either a depressed mood or anhedonia:

1.       Depressed mood

2.       Anhedonia

3.       Significant weight change or change in appetite

4.       Insomnia or hypersomnia

5.       Psychomotor agitation or retardation

6.       Fatigue or loss of energy

7.       Feelings of worthlessness or excessive guilt

8.       Decreased ability to concentrate or indecisiveness

9.       Thoughts of death or suicidal ideation

·Symptoms do not meet the criteria for a mixed episode

·Symptoms cause significant distress or impairment in functioning

·Symptoms are not due to substance abuse, medication, or a medical condition

·Symptoms are not better accounted for by bereavement.